Be.Here.Now.

Every time I try to get my yoga friends or students come to the Webster class, I end up exasperated with futile attempts to convince people that I am offering them “ex-pe-rie-nce” for free or for little money! Whichever! ‘Just Come’, I say. “I have my kid’s, my mother’s…” they say.

Why is the Webster class “experience” you wonder? Well, not so much for what we do- it still a yoga practice, but rather for what it is:

  • it is an after work/workday-hustle class when you have the luxury of relaxing deeper and your mind is ready to take a nap
  • It is in a secluded, tucked away Liberty Lodge with no traffic noise, no street lights, no front desk, no check in.
  • You park the car in the front, park your mat in the room, and that’s it.
  • It is longer than any other classes. I sort of try to keep the class on time and I sort of fail… and we go over 7 pm. Blissfully
  • Instead of vampire neon lights, there is real fire in a real fireplace.
  • It is imperfect, the floors could be cleaner, the room could be warmer, and we could, honestly, be more flexible.
  • Nah.

The dictionary says that experience is the actual living through an event or series of events.

In order to actually live through an event, to have an experience we need to be present-we need to BE.HERE.NOW.

It is not easy, it is not easy at all, and that is why I need a secluded lodge, a quiet fireplace, dusk falling silently around as we gather in our yoga practice to chase the fireflies of “be.here.now”

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bmsullivan@rochester.rr.com
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 10:15:59

    Well last week I arrived at Yoga practice, saw the WPRC man unlock the doors to Liberty Lodge, sat in my car 45 minutes talking to my cousin, when I realized I was still the only car in the parkinglot. Very relaxing. I will not make it tonight due to my son-in-law’s birthday. We are going out to dinner. But….I promise to be there next week. Save my spot. Ha. Miss everyone so much. Fondly, Barb

    Reply

  2. Sharon Galbraith
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 12:00:53

    Marijana – two items I think you will enjoy.

    “Before nothing, behind nothing, worship it, the zero.”

    “Beginnings and endings are arbitrary points on a time line of unintended consequences.”

    I think both say to be here, now. slg

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

