Five minutes/Five days

Image

While most of us commit to a rather regular yoga practice, even if it is just once a week, there is a noticeable lack of enthusiasm when it comes to committing to meditation. Oh, no I am not implying that you are not enthusiastic and gung-ho about your meditation practice! No way! I know better than that!

I guess, in a roundabout way,  I am confessing that it is me who treats meditation like broccoli – I know it is healthy, and it is quite pretty, and green, but somehow that opinion does not translate into broccoli on my plate. Now that I started on that, I realize that  I do not even  see it in the store. Sad. Very sad.

To make things simple and to prevent myself from mentally writing yet another War & Peace, I figured these cunning strategies to break through my  reluctance and – most -importantly- develop a new habit:

You will need:  a phone or any device with a stopwatch which makes noise at the end and a quiet place.

  1.  You know that you can do anything for three minutes or five minutes
  2.  Sit in the way that you feel comfortable and light.
  3.  Set up the stopwatch to three or five minutes
  4.  Close your eyes, relax the face and slow down your breath
  5. Just observe

Commit to five days. If you miss one day, restart your five days.

Starting today.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sejal
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 16:10:05

    very nice post. practical, helpful, compassionate, funny. thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

